Connect with us


Sports News: World and National Sports Headlines, Score Updates, Highlights, Stats & Results –



Sign in to Sportsnet

Subscribe to league newsletters

Play fantasy sports

{* #registrationForm_radio_2 *}

Display Name

{* traditionalRegistration_displayName *}


{* traditionalRegistration_emailAddress *}

Create Password

{* traditionalRegistration_password *}

Don’t miss out – sign up for our newsletters! (approx 1 – 2 per week)

By checking this box, I agree to the terms of service and privacy policy of Rogers Media.

{* createAccountButton *}

{* /registrationForm_radio_2 *}

{* loginWidget *}

This Article was first live here.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Astros throw combined no-hitter in win over Yankees



The Houston Astros threw a combined no-hitter as they defeated the New York Yankees 3-0 on Saturday afternoon.

Starter Cristian Javier lasted seven innings with Hector Neris pitching in relief for the eighth inning and Ryan Pressly closed it out at Yankees Stadium.

Javier threw a career-high 13 strikeouts. He issued a walk in the first inning to Josh Donaldson, who also reached base on an error in the seventh when third baseman Alex Bregman threw past first following a grounder.

The Astros (45-26) and Yankees (52-20) close out their four-game series on Sunday afternoon.

It’s the third no-hitter of the season already. Five New York Mets pitchers combined against the Philadelphia Phillies on April 29 and Reid Detmers of the Los Angeles Angels accomplished the feat solo against the Tampa Bay Rays on May 10.

Houston’s previous no-hitter was by Justin Verlander on Sept. 1, 2019, against the Toronto Blue Jays.

— With files from The Associated Press.

This Article was first live here.

Continue Reading


Karriss Artingstall dominates Vaida Masiokaite to win professional debut



Karriss Artingstall, a bronze medallist at the Tokyo Olympic Games, made a seamless transition to the professional sport as she hammered out a six-round points win over Vaida Masiokaite.

At the Skydome Arena in Coventry, Artingstall took command of her bout with Masiokaite from the start, marching in close, drawing punches from her opponent to hammer in her own power shots.

She began to shake Masiokaite with right hooks that clipped the chin and upped her intensity in the fourth round, driving in combinations.

Fighting from the southpaw stance the Olympic featherweight bronze medallist lined up a heavy left cross, blasting it through the Lithuanian’s guard. Masiokaite was feeling the pressure and Artingstall hit with crisp, solid power.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Karriss Artingstall admits she had nerves ahead of her pro-debut, but enjoyed her win over Vaida Masiokaite.

There were hints that Masiokaite could be about to unravel but she is resilient, she’s only been stopped inside the distance once and that was against Chantelle Cameron, now a unified world champion all the way up at super-lightweight.

Masiokaite hung tough but Artingstall took all six rounds to finish a 60-54 points winner.

“I enjoyed it,” Aringstall said afterwards.

“[I was] more nervous for the ring walk to be honest, but once that first bell goes it’s what I live for day in day out, so I’m used to it.”

Karriss Artingstall
Karriss Artingstall punishes Vaida Masiokaite with solid punch power (Photo: Lawrence Lustig/BOXXER)

Tyler Denny won a tremendous battle for the English middleweight title against local Coventry man River Wilson-Bent. Denny, a southpaw, piled forward, getting himself onto the front foot and working up close.

He shook Wilson-Bent with lead right hooks and dictated where the bout was fought, forcing his opponent to the ropes and attacking the body.

A point off for clinching put Wilson-Bent in an even worse position. But he showed tremendous heart, roaring back in the final round to tag Denny with hurtful shots in the corner.

The decision was split, with judge Steve Gray scoring 96-94 for Wilson-Bent. But Terry O’Connor and Kevin Parker both had it for Denny, 97-93 and 96-93 respectively.

After Spain’s Carlos Perez stung BOXXER Series tournament winner Cori Gibbs with right crosses in the early going, the Birmingham switch hitter took control and boxed his way to a 79-73 points win over eight rounds.

This Article was first live here.

Continue Reading


TNPL 2022 Most Runs and Most Wickets standings: Laxmesha Suryaprakash and Sanjay Yadav reclaim the top spots – Updated after Match 4



The Indian Cement Company Ground in Tirunelveli hosted the fourth match of the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 between Salem Spartans and Nellai Royal Kings on Saturday (June 25).

After being asked to bat first, the Salem Spartans batters never got going as they only managed to score 149 in their 20 overs, losing seven wickets. Daryl Ferrario top-scored with 60* and was well-supported by R Kavin, who scored 48. The Royal Kings’ bowlers bowled brilliantly, with Athisayaraj Davidson and NS Harish finishing with two wickets each.

The batters then stepped up and backed up their bowlers as they contributed and helped them chase down the total. A fantastic cameo from G Ajitesh (48* off 25 balls) helped the side get across the line with 14 balls to spare to win the game by five wickets. G Kishoor finished with two wickets but his side failed to defend the total.

TNPL 2022 most runs list

Kaushik Gandhi in action (Image Courtesy: Times of India)
Kaushik Gandhi in action (Image Courtesy: Times of India)

Laxmesha Suryaprakash of Nellai Royal Kings scored 62 in their first game and continued his rich form with the bat by scoring 35 against the Salem Spartans. He is currently leading the run-scorers list with 97 runs.

Uthirasamy Sasidev follows Suryaprakash in the list with 73 runs in two games. The right-handed batter represents Chepauk Super Gillies and has looked good in both outings so far. Chepauk Super Gillies skipper Kaushik Gandhi and S Harish Kumar are in the third and fourth positions as both have scored 65 runs so far.

TNPL 2022 most wickets list

Sanjay Yadav in action (Image Courtesy: myKhel)
Sanjay Yadav in action (Image Courtesy: myKhel)

Sanjay Yadav of Nellai Royal Kings leads the most wickets column with three scalps to his name in two games. He has bowled brilliantly for the Nellai Royal Kings and averages 17 with the ball. Yadav also bowls economical spells and is certainly a player to look out for in the competition.

The Chepauk Super Gillies have lost both games but R Alexander has been impressive for them. He went wicketless in the first game but stepped up on Saturday as he picked up three wickets, conceding only 20 runs in his four overs. He sits in the second position on the most wickets list.

Kiran Akash, NS Harish, and V Athisayaraj Davidson have each picked up three wickets and are behind R Alexander in the list. They will all look to keep performing in a similar fashion in the upcoming games.

Interested in sports other than cricket? Find more details here

This Article was first live here.

Continue Reading